16 replies to this topic

#1 Nancy

Nancy

All Star

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 488 posts

Posted 03 April 2011 - 12:02 PM

We've decided to get our 7yo son evaluated for autism spectrum. Does anyone have any advice? I know that UC Davis and Sutter both have autism programs. Is one better than the other? Or is there somewhere else we should go?

Any other advice would be great. I'm kind of numb so I don't even know what else to ask.

Thanks,

Nancy

#2 Deb aka Resume Lady

Deb aka Resume Lady

Hopeless Addict

• No Politics!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,361 posts
  • Interests:Sole proprietor: Tailored Resume Services
    Volunteer: Court Appointed Special Advocate for a child in the foster care system

Posted 03 April 2011 - 12:55 PM

I have no personal experience with autism, but have heard great thing about the MIND Institute at U. C. Davis. http://www.ucdmc.ucd.../mindinstitute/ . It's worth checking out. Good for you for getting your son checked out. Knowing whether he does have a disorder on the autism spectrum and, if so, specifically where he is will be a huge step in the direction of knowing how best to help him fulfill his potential.

Ask if they have any support groups for parents. I'm sure the feeling of numbness isn't unusual, especially when you are first learning the diagnosis. And read everything you can about current research and advances with autism spectrum disorders.

{{{{{Nancy}}}}}
Job Search Consultant
Tailored Resume Services
(916) 984-0855

Volunteer, Court Appointed Special Advocate for Sacramento CASA * I Am for the Child
Making a Difference in the Life of Abused and Neglected Children in Foster Care
http://www.sacramentocasa.org/

I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do. ~ Edward Everett Hale

"How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world." ~ Anne Frank

#3 momof1