76 replies to this topic

#1 ScionBox

ScionBox

Netizen

• Registered Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts

Posted 21 March 2009 - 09:49 PM

Hi all... longtime lurker, first time poster! I have been a resident of Folsom since 1981.

Anyway, I'll get to my point. I have noticed that the business in Bel Air and the Raley's stores in Folsom (even in greater Sacramento) looks especially slow lately. I am curious to see what their recent financial numbers look like, especially in today's economy.

The competition in the grocery industry here is fierce.... and I am wondering how much longer Raley's can hang on without getting bought out.... or going away altogether. Their prices lately are way too high... and I find myself driving to WinCo or Walmart instead.

As a former employee of Raley's (many moons ago biggrin.gif ) I would hate to see this local institution end up in the hands of Kroger or some other giant mega corporation, such as what is happening with Long's Drugs. But as long as the prices stay high & their product selection dwindles, I have to shop elsewhere.

I would love to hear your predictions on Raley's future.

Edited by ScionBox, 21 March 2009 - 09:51 PM.

#2 california girl

california girl

Netizen

• Registered Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts

Posted 22 March 2009 - 12:10 PM

QUOTE (ScionBox @ Mar 21 2009, 10:49 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hi all... longtime lurker, first time poster! I have been a resident of Folsom since 1981.

Anyway, I'll get to my point. I have noticed that the business in Bel Air and the Raley's stores in Folsom (even in greater Sacramento) looks especially slow lately. I am curious to see what their recent financial numbers look like, especially in today's economy.

The competition in the grocery industry here is fierce.... and I am wondering how much longer Raley's can hang on without getting bought out.... or going away altogether. Their prices lately are way too high... and I find myself driving to WinCo or Walmart instead.