Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Service Industry Tips - Whats Standard Procedure?

resteraunts food service folsom sushi tips

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 awood

awood

All Star

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 468 posts

Posted 26 December 2013 - 11:06 AM

With the exception of a few months of fast food service in HS, I have zero experience or knowldege as to service industry standards, managment or procedures.  My biased view is that paying less than minimum wage is criminal, but it has been a standard that was set long before my time that continues today.  So waiters, waitresses, hairdressers, barbers, bartenders, etc. all are allowed to be pd. an hrly wage that is far less than minimum with the understanding that it is augmented by the tips they recieve for their service.  (Not really critical to the question, but I tip >20% for good service and a minimum of 15% believeing that it is necessary to even make it fair to the people working for less than minimum wage to begin with.

My question is, "How do tips get distributed?"

Again, in full admission of my ignorance, I thought that it I left a $20 tip for a waitress, she got $20.  In some cases, I thought they collected them in a "pot" and split them evenly or based on some percentage among the workers to make sure the bus boys, hostesses, etc. were all included.  Never in my wildest dreams had I thought that only a small %age gone to the employees and a much larger %age went to the manager!?!  I would have assumed the manager was a salaried employee?