• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 hopeanelli

hopeanelli

Superstar

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 701 posts
  • Interests:Drag Racing, Motocross, boating and my boys....

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:41 PM

Hey All,

I am sure there a lot on the forum who have done this ride but I haven't ever tried and I am thinking about taking it on with hubby. I work for the construction company doing all the work on Hazel so I know the obstacles there but thought I would ask if it's pretty much a flat ride down or lots of hills or any advice. I am a beginner on the bike well I have taken 3 hr rides and been fine and some hills and such. Just wondering if I need to get more advanced and if the trails are super hard.

HELP... want to ride to or as close as I can to old sac....

#2 aztransplant

aztransplant

Hall Of Famer

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,114 posts

Posted 02 September 2009 - 09:06 PM

QUOTE (hopeanelli @ Sep 2 2009, 09:41 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hey All,

I am sure there a lot on the forum who have done this ride but I haven't ever tried and I am thinking about taking it on with hubby. I work for the construction company doing all the work on Hazel so I know the obstacles there but thought I would ask if it's pretty much a flat ride down or lots of hills or any advice. I am a beginner on the bike well I have taken 3 hr rides and been fine and some hills and such. Just wondering if I need to get more advanced and if the trails are super hard.

This is a great goal! I'll just give you my experience. Even when I'm in marathon condition, if I haven't been on the bike regularly making it all the way down to Old Sac and back (from Karen's Bakery) is quite the challenge. Even with drafting in a paceline at a not-so-fast speed of 16 mph or so, the 56-60 mile round trip can be exhausting. Plan on at least 4 hours, and that is with just a potty/water break at Goethe, Discovery, and maybe Goethe again on the way back.