Photo
- - - - -

Quiet Deserted Road For Teen With Learner's Permit?

Deserted roads Learning to Drive New driver

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Blue Chameleon

Blue Chameleon

• New Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 July 2014 - 01:39 PM

I am brand new to Folsom. My 17.5 year old is just now getting his learner's permit to drive. Are there any recommendations for roads in the Folsom and/ or EDH area where I can take him to start learning ? This will be after I take him to a parking lot with not many cars around to show him the basics.

I am looking for roads with little to no traffic that isn't real curvy.

Thanks!

#2 4thgenFolsomite

4thgenFolsomite

Hopeless Addict

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,979 posts

Posted 04 July 2014 - 05:28 AM

Welcome to Folsom! I have been racking my brain and can't think of great places off hand, butif you went into most business parks on a weekend or after work, you should get nice wide roads and very little traffic. How about on Blue Ravine west of Folsom Blvd. like over behind Dos Coyotes and all that area back there. And happy fourth of July!
Knowing the past helps deciphering the future.

#3 MrsTuffPaws

MrsTuffPaws

Crazy Lady

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,390 posts

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:29 AM

You may have to travel a bit, but I remember my Dad taking me to new housing developments (under construction or unsold) to practice driving.  It was an ideal situation for me.  Low speed limit, lots of intersections, culs-de-sac and parallel parking oppourtunities, with little to no traffic.

#4 Deb aka Resume Lady

Deb aka Resume Lady

Hopeless Addict

• No Politics!
  • 8,361 posts
  • Interests:Sole proprietor: Tailored Resume Services
    Volunteer: Court Appointed Special Advocate for a child in the foster care system

Posted 09 July 2014 - 10:41 AM