60 replies to this topic

#1 M.E.G.

M.E.G.

All Star

• Premium Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 485 posts

Posted 18 December 2008 - 07:17 AM

It seems to me that my Comcast, that I pay $64/month for is slower than my daughter's ATT internet. A lot of people I talk to that use the same programs and systems I use say they have no problem with ATT for internet. So I am seriously considering changing to ATT., based on their web site I can get speeds up to 6mbs? Course the last time I tried to order that they said it was unavailable, that was months ago and hopefully things have changed.

But, I have set up the home network system. I have 2 pc's on it, wireless set up for my laptop and wireless printer, and a xbox downstairs hooked up wireless also. I own the Linksy router that I am using, but not the modem, it is from Comcast.

My fear, and hopefully somebody can answer this, is.... Am I going to have to re-setup my whole network if I change providers? I am not a techie, I know just enough to get myself in trouble. I really don't want to spend a lot of time redoing everything.

M.E.G.

Mechelle Reasoner (formerly Gooch)

Movin'...So You Can!

Morris Williams Realty

Call or txt: 916 955-8698,

Email me

Read my blog, search for homes, find out more about Folsom at FolsomCorner.com

#2 eVader

eVader

Living Legend

• No Politics!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,534 posts

Posted 18 December 2008 - 08:19 AM

No worries. I just helped my father do the same thing last night. Reduced cost from $56 to $14.99\mth and while he has a slower speed for now, he can upgrade to faster speeds once ATT brings in Uverse early next year. Until now, he has been out of range of DSL and paying his cable companies $$$ monthly charges.